Skip to product information
1 of 1

Arcadia Publishing (SC)

Rains County

Rains County

Regular price €23,95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €23,95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
This fourth-smallest county in Texas was created in December 1870 from parts of Wood, Hunt, Van Zandt, and Hopkins Counties. The county and the county seat are named after the founding father, Emory Rains. In the early days, cotton was king, and the towns were full of businesses that served the residents needs. In 1902, the National Farmers Union was formed in Point, and with the decline of cotton, dairy and beef cattle are now the main industries. The Texas legislature designated Rains County as Eagle Capital of Texas in 1995 in order to protect and preserve the bald eagles who nest around the local lakes. Today, Emory is the home of the A.C. McMillan African American Museum, which preserves the African American culture of this area. Rains County is bordered by Lake Tawakoni for catfish fishing and Lake Fork for bass fishing. These lakes, along with annual festivals, draw thousands of visitors and outdoor enthusiasts each year. This pictorial history portrays the everyday life, influential people of the county, education, worship, and businesses from 1870 to 1950. Come to Rains County where it rains when it wants to "

Author: Elaine Nall Bay
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing (SC)
Published: 06/06/2011
Pages: 128
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.75lbs
Size: 9.29h x 6.54w x 0.35d
ISBN: 9780738579986

About the Author
Nall Bay, Elaine: - Elaine Nall Bay was a resident of Rains County for 30 years and worked to preserve Rains County history in 15 locally published books. She is a member of the Rains County Genealogical Society and the Rains County Historical Society. The images preserved in this work are from the Rains County Leader photograph files, the author s works, and individuals.

View full details