Skip to product information
1 of 1

Dover Publications

Organ Music

Organ Music

Regular price €26,95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €26,95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The renowned Bach-Gesellschaft -- founded in 1850 to collect, edit, and publish all the known works of J. S. Bach -- devoted 50 years to its monumental task. It succeeded so well in tracking down Bach's heritage, establishing authenticity, and transcribing accurate texts that it still remains the primary source for Bach's music. Unfortunately, it has always been a fantastically expensive publication, accessible only in the largest libraries.
This volume reprints in full, directly from the Bach-Gesellschaft volumes, important organ music by the greatest composer for the organ. It contains the full texts of the Six Trio Sonatas; the St. Anne Prelude and Fugue in E-flat Major; the Four Duets and Seventeen Chorale Preludes (the German Organ Mass) from the Clavierübung; the complete Orgelbüchlein; the Six Schübler Chorales; and the Eighteen Chorale Preludes. Appendices also reproduce two early variants from the Orgelbüchlein and 115 from the Eighteen Choral Preludes.
This music has been reproduced in large, clear type, directly from the original editions, for maximum clarity. Designed as a playing edition, it will not only be a necessary part of the library of every church organist, it will be a basic book in the library of every organist, keyboard performer, musicologist, student, and music lover.

Author: Johann Sebastian Bach
Publisher: Dover Publications
Published: 06/01/1970
Pages: 368
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 1.79lbs
Size: 10.93h x 8.10w x 0.79d
ISBN: 9780486223599

About the Author

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) was a prolific German composer and organist whose sacred and secular works for choir, orchestra, and solo instruments exemplify the heart and soul of the Baroque period. A revival of interest and performances of his music began early in the 19th century and continue to this day. He is now widely considered to be one of the greatest composers in the Western tradition.

This title is not returnable

View full details