Skip to product information
1 of 1

Cambridge University Press

Russians on Russian Music, 1880-1917: An Anthology

Russians on Russian Music, 1880-1917: An Anthology

Regular price €144,95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €144,95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
This anthology of Russian music criticism reveals the reactions of leading critics to new Russian music in the period 1880-1917. Tchaikovsky, Rimsky-Korsakov and Borodin were in their prime, and several new generations emerged: Rachmaninoff and Skryabin, Stravinsky and Prokoviev. Works reviewed range from In the Steppes of Central Asia and the Path tique Symphony to The Golden Cockerel and The Rite of Spring.

Author: Stuart Campbell
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Published: 08/14/2003
Pages: 284
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.33lbs
Size: 9.40h x 6.28w x 0.83d
ISBN: 9780521590976

About the Author
Campbell, Stuart: - Stuart Campbell is Honorary Senior Research Fellow in the Department of Music and at the Institute for Central and East European Studies, University of Glasgow. He is author of V. F. Okoyevsky and the Formation of Russian Musical Taste in the Nineteenth Century (1989) and editor and translator of Russians on Russian Music, 1830-1880 (Cambridge, 1994).

View full details