Skip to product information
1 of 1

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Coward Plays: 1

Coward Plays: 1

Regular price $33.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $33.95 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
This first volume in the Coward Collection contains four plays written within a two year period when Coward
and the century were still in their 20s. The volume is introduced by Sheridan Morley,
Coward's first biographer.

Hay Fever, a comedy of bad
manners, concerns a weekend with friends of the Bliss family, who have
all been invited independently for a weekend at their country house
near Maidenhead. The Vortex
was a controversial drama in its time, introducing drug-addiction onto
the stage at a time when alcoholism was barely mentioned. Fallen Angels, which is written for two star actresses
was described as 'degenerate', 'vile', 'obscene', 'shocking' - the
second half of the play is entirely taken up with an alcoholic duologue
between the two women. Easy Virtue is an elegant, laconic tribute to a
lost world of drawing-room dramas, no other writer went more directly
to the jugular of that moralistic, tight-lipped but fundamentally
hypocritical 20s society.

"He is simply a phenomenon, and one that is unlikely to occur ever
again in theatre history" Terence Rattigan

Author: Noël Coward
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Published: 09/06/1979
Pages: 322
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.70lbs
Size: 7.70h x 5.10w x 1.00d
ISBN: 9780413460608

About the Author
Coward, Noël: - Noël Coward was born in 1899 in Teddington, Middlesex. He made his name as a playwright with The Vortex (1924), in which he also appeared. His numerous other successful plays included Fallen Angels (1925), Hay Fever (1925), Private Lives (1933), Design for Living (1933) and Blithe Spirit (1941). During the war he wrote screenplays such as Brief Encounter (1944) and In Which We Serve (1942). In the fifties he began a new career as a cabaret entertainer. He published volumes of verse and a novel (Pomp and Circumstance, 1960), two volumes of autobiography and four volumes of short stories: To Step Aside (1939), Star Quality (1951), Pretty Polly Barlow (1964) and Bon Voyage (1967). He was knighted in 1970 and died three years later in Jamaica.

This title is not returnable

View full details