Skip to product information
1 of 1

Signet Book

Four Great Comedies: The Taming of the Shrew/A Midsummer Night's Dream/Twelfth Night/The Tempest

Regular price $9.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $9.95 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Four of the Bard's most famous comedies--including The Taming of the Shrew, A Midsummer Night's Dream, Twelfth Night, and The Tempest.

"Comedies," as one of William Shakespeare's contemporaries wrote, "begin in trouble and end in peace." This is certainly true of the four masterworks selected for this collection, each of which represents a significant stage in the Bard's development as a writer. Reading these plays, we sample the whole comic spectrum of the Elizabethan world.

This comedy collection in the Signet Classics Shakespeare series includes:

- An overview of William Shakespeare's life, world, and theater
- A special introduction by the series' general editor, Sylvan Barnet
- Reliable texts by noted Shakespeare scholars
- Text, notes, and commentaries printed in the clearest, most readable format
- Recommended readings

Author: William Shakespeare
Publisher: Signet Book
Published: 09/01/1998
Pages: 437
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.47lbs
Size: 6.90h x 4.22w x 1.20d
ISBN: 9780451527318

About the Author
William Shakespeare (1564-1616) was a poet, playwright, and actor who is widely regarded as one of the most influential writers in the history of the English language. Often referred to as the Bard of Avon, Shakespeare's vast body of work includes comedic, tragic, and historical plays; poems; and 154 sonnets. His dramatic works have been translated into every major language and are performed more often than those of any other playwright.