Skip to product information
1 of 1

Balzer & Bray/Harperteen

Other Words for Home

Other Words for Home

Regular price $9.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $9.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Format

New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor Book

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven't quite prepared her for starting school in the US--and her new label of "Middle Eastern," an identity she's never known before.

But this life also brings unexpected surprises--there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.



Author: Jasmine Warga
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Published: 04/06/2021
Pages: 368
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.50lbs
Size: 7.60h x 5.20w x 0.80d
ISBN: 9780062747815

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 5.3
Point Value: 5
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 504111 / Other Words for Home

About the Author
Warga, Jasmine: -

Jasmine Warga's debut middle grade book, Other Words for Home, is a Newbery Honor Book. She is the author of the novels for teens My Heart and Other Black Holes, which has been translated into over twenty languages, and Here We Are Now. She lives and writes in Cincinnati, Ohio. You can visit Jasmine online at www.jasminewarga.com.

View full details