Skip to product information
1 of 1

Balzer & Bray/Harperteen

The Black Flamingo

The Black Flamingo

Regular price $12.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $12.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Format

Stonewall Book Award Winner * A Time Magazine Best YA Book Of All Time

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender.

Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he's navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican--but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough.

As he gets older, Michael's coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs--and the Black Flamingo is born.

Told with raw honesty, insight, and lyricism, this debut explores the layers of identity that make us who we are--and allow us to shine.

In this uplifting coming-of-age novel told in accessible verse, Atta chronicles the growth and glory of Michael Angeli, a mixed-race kid from London, as he navigates his cultural identity as Cypriot and Jamaican as well as his emerging sexuality. (Publishers Weekly, An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List)



Author: Dean Atta
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Published: 05/25/2021
Pages: 416
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.65lbs
Size: 8.00h x 5.20w x 1.10d
ISBN: 9780062990303

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 4.7
Point Value: 5
Interest Level: Upper Grade
Quiz #/Name: 513450 / Black Flamingo

About the Author
Atta, Dean: -

Dean Atta's poems deal with themes of race, gender, and identity. He regularly performs across the UK and internationally and his work has been shortlisted for the Polari First Book Prize and appeared on MTV and BET. The Black Flamingo is his debut YA novel. You can find him online at www.deanatta.com.

View full details