Skip to product information
1 of 1

Sanford J. Greenburger Associates

The Determined Bachelor: A Regency Classic

The Determined Bachelor: A Regency Classic

Regular price $36.51 USD
Regular price Sale price $36.51 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Format
A COUNTERFEIT GOVERNESS
Anne Calder was a headstrong young woman bent on earning her own living as novelist, preferably in London. Before she could follow her first successful book with a second, however, Anne had to find an entree into London society. And what better method than to assume the guise of a governess and secure employment with Sir Basil Ives, the noted statesman and diplomat? Chaperoning his ward allowed Anne to mingle with the upper crust while closely observing Sir Basil himself. Handsome, arrogant, icily formal, and sought after by every London hostess, Sir Basil would make a perfect character for her next novelBut Anne's amusing little masquerade soon became a more serious affair as she fell under the spell of Sir Basil, who, as everyone knew, was not the marrying kind...
Fans of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer will delight in the reissue of another classic Regency Romance by Judith Harkness. With a light touch and witty eye for human foibles, Harkness paints the fashionable world of Regency England, when styles were dictated by Beau Brummel, the Duchess of Devonshire held court, and dandies paraded in their phaetons and four. Groomed by their mamas to capture the hearts of the most eligible bachelors of the day, fashionable young ladies passed the Season at Bath, where they were presented at the Assembly Rooms in all their finery and feathers. Brimming with period detail, "The Determined Bachelor" will delight readers craving a good, old-fashioned romantic story in the tradition of "Pride and Prejudice."
Judith Harkness is the author of five classic Regency Romances: "The Montague Scandal, The Admiral s Daughter, The Determined Bachelor, Contrary Cousins," and "Lady Charlotte s Ruse," all originally published by Signet. She is the co-author of a screenplay, EMMA in New York, an updated version of the classic Jane Austen novel set in contemporary Manhattan. As J.H. Richardson, she writes non-fiction on subjects ranging from children with learning and developmental issues to profiles of notable creative artists. She lives in Rhode Island with her husband, Will Taft.
"Jane Austen Alert "
Carla Sarett, Ph.D. Radnor, PA . Author, Nine Romantic Stories. "

Author: Judith Harkness
Publisher: Sanford J. Greenburger Associates
Published: 10/01/2014
Pages: 286
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.81lbs
Size: 8.50h x 5.50w x 0.65d
ISBN: 9780786755127

This title is not returnable

View full details