Skip to product information
1 of 1

Sandy Isle Books

The Magnificent Ambersons

The Magnificent Ambersons

Regular price $16.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $16.95 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
"The Magnificent Ambersons" is a 1918 novel by Booth Tarkington that won the 1919 Pulitzer Prize. It is the second novel in his Growth trilogy, which includes "The Turmoil" (1915) and "The Midlander" (1923, retitled "National Avenue" in 1927).

Author: Janice Knauss, Booth Tarkington
Publisher: Sandy Isle Books
Published: 03/04/2014
Pages: 378
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.95lbs
Size: 7.99h x 5.24w x 0.84d
ISBN: 9780615955810

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 8.2
Point Value: 18
Interest Level: Upper Grade
Quiz #/Name: 28457 / Magnificent Ambersons

About the Author
Newton Booth Tarkington was born in Indianapolis, Indiana on July 29, 1869. He is known as one of the great American novelists of the 20th century, winning the Pulitzer Prize for "The Magnificent Ambersons" in 1919 and for "Alice Adams" in 1922. Tarkington attended Purdue University and later Princeton. He was editor of the Nassau Literary Magazine at Princeton, which later awarded him both an honorary A.M. and an honorary Litt.D. In 1898, Tarkington's manuscript "The Gentleman from Indiana" was accepted for publication by New York publisher S.S. McClure and became a bestseller in 1900, launching a financially successful literary career. The 1921 Publishers Weekly poll of booksellers rated Tarkington the most significant contemporary American author, above Sinclair Lewis, Robert Frost and Carl Sandburg. In 1931, he won the O. Henry Memorial Award for his short story "Cider of Normandy." Throughout his life, Tarkenton's works appeared frequently on best seller lists. His novels "The Two Vanrevels" and "Mary's Neck" appeared on annual best-seller lists a total of nine times.

This title is not returnable

View full details