Skip to product information
1 of 1

Harper Perennial

Tolstoy and the Purple Chair: My Year of Magical Reading

Tolstoy and the Purple Chair: My Year of Magical Reading

Regular price $17.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $17.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Format

"Nina Sankovitch has crafted a dazzling memoir that reminds us of the most primal function of literature--to heal, to nurture, and to connect to our truest selves. --Thrity Umrigar, author of The Space Between Us

Catalyzed by the loss of her sister, a mother of four spends one year savoring a great book every day, from Thomas Pynchon to Nora Ephron and beyond. In the tradition of Gretchen Rubin's The Happiness Project and Joan Didion's A Year of Magical Thinking, Nina Sankovitch's soul-baring and literary-minded memoir is a chronicle of loss, hope, and redemption. Nina ultimately turns to read as therapy and through her journey illuminates the power of books to help us reclaim our lives.


Author: Nina Sankovitch
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Published: 06/19/2012
Pages: 256
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.43lbs
Size: 8.05h x 5.36w x 0.73d
ISBN: 9780061999857

About the Author
Sankovitch, Nina: -

Nina Sankovitch launched "ReadAllDayorg" in 2008, and at the end of her year of reading, she was profiled in the New York Times. She continues to review books on "ReadAllDayorg" and for the Huffington Post. She lives in Connecticut with her husband and four sons.

View full details