Skip to product information
1 of 1

Basic Books

Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White

Regular price $21.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $21.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Format
Writing in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and others who confronted the color line of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the twenty-first century. Wu examines affirmative action, globalization, immigration, and other controversial contemporary issues through the lens of the Asian-American experience. Mixing personal anecdotes, legal cases, and journalistic reporting, Wu confronts damaging Asian-American stereotypes such as the model minority and the perpetual foreigner. By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu's work dares us to make good on our great democratic experiment.

Author: Frank H. Wu
Publisher: Basic Books
Published: 03/27/2003
Pages: 416
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.95lbs
Size: 8.00h x 5.28w x 1.06d
ISBN: 9780465006403

About the Author
The first Asian American to serve as a law professor at Howard University Law School in Washington, D.C., Frank H. Wu has written for a range of publications including the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, the Chicago Tribune, and the Nation, and writes a regular column for Asian Week. He lives in Washington, D.C.